Daffodils

The daffodils are in bloom, and this was my last weekend to get up to the mountains to see them before they disappeared for another year. For those of you who are not familiar with the story of the daffodils and how this wonder came about in a small canyon of the Angeles Mountains, see my entry of October 2, 2005 -http://spaces.msn.com/gferenczi/blog/cns!7BC5E2A074F93EA7!696.trak – or paste this trackback in your browser address window. I won’t repeat the story, but I posted some photos for your enjoyment.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Daffodils

  1. K says:

    I love spring for the above reason… the gorgeous array of colors and scents… until that is my allergies hit me.  Those picture are BEAUTIFUL Jorge!  Just stunning…
     
    KC

  2. Aafrica says:

    so it\’s spring everywhere now 🙂

  3. Jaime Campbell says:

    Jorge, these are gorgeous pictures!  I\’m so glad that you got to go visit the beautiful flowers again.  I remember your post from last year.  What a cool thing.  And the mountains….wow!
     
    Have a great night.
    Hugs,
    Jaime.

  4. Nunya says:

    OOOH very nice.  I love my flower pics!  Thanks for casting your vote for blog…he\’s a very special guy and deserves the honor.
     
    Rebecca

  5. Gayle says:

    Tracking back to that blog – I remember it!  It was the blog that caused me to add your name to my list of good reading.  It was beautifully written and moving.  50,000 bulbs one at a time over almost 50 years.  it gave encouragement and set a challenge before me.  I thought of what I have planted and seeds yet to be implanted.  There is much left to do and your writing and images are inspiring!
     
    Thanks, Jorge.
     
    Gayle
     

  6. linda says:

    I just put on my space \’SPRING THE WONDERS IT BRINGS\’
     the daffodils are splendid.  My feet have a spring in them, and life is sweet.   love from Linda

  7. Jill says:

    Dear Jorge,
    The only change I would make to the Daffodil Principle would be: "Start today." instead of tomorrow. Why wait?  Many people have diabolical accusations inside themselves when at any point in life they say…"Oh, the years I\’ve wasted not understanding myself."–well then, start today. But…what most people don\’t realize is that they don\’t want to start at all. They "prefer" having the dissappointing, self-berrating feelings. Knowing this is a start to making some change and no one can know what that change has in store for us. It\’s going from the known (suffering) to the unknown, and that always provokes fear.
     
    Being that I went back to your October 2005 blog I ran accross one called "Criticism". Sometimes I\’m a little daring and do speak in what could be construed as a critical-analytical manner. Also I give suggestions. I have found that when I do this, some people never write back to me! I see them posting here and there in superficial, meaningless ways, but apparently they have no interest in at least discussing the matter.
     
    About 26 years ago when we built our home here in Costa Rica my father planted a manga tree, avocado tree, a few orange trees, a cas and guayaba tree. It took him about a day of work and thereafter fertilizing and watering when needed.  Till this day all of these trees continue to seasonally deliver huge quantities of fruits to us. We are just about to get into the manga season and I\’m getting read to make all my special recipes.
     
    Now my father\’s 72 and has written his new book We\’re Having Sex Right Now!. He really enjoyed the writing part and now both he and I are faced with how, what, who and where? At his age he\’s not afraid to start. Sometimes there are growing pains involved (like for instance, every day) but we\’re in there giving it our best.
     
    Maybe one day I\’ll be a little critical about your site. Let\’s see if you write back to me!
    Best,
    Jill
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

  8. Beach Bum says:

    Brilliant pix, Jorge!  Thanks for showing me something I\’m sure I\’d never see otherwise.

  9. Lakota314 says:

    And I think we all have our version of your daffodil hill.  Thank you for reminding me how important it is.
     
    Come visit me, when you can, at my new blogsite http://spaces.msn.com/lakota314/
     
    Lakota

  10. Cheryl says:

    Great pictures and now I go check out the story…

  11. Moon says:

    Goshhhh, Spring is in the air.
     
    Jorg, thanks for stoping by.
    and i came to hand you a link that i\’m almost sure you are going to like:
    RUBE GOLDBERG\’S "INVENTIONS" cartoons which depict the most elaborate and ridiculous devices to accomplish the most mundane tasks mother of invention – often  with hilarious results:
    http://www.rube-goldberg.com/html/gallery.htm

  12. Jaime Campbell says:

    Hey J.,
     
    I\’m kinda down today…but trying to remember that it\’s God\’s timing, not mine, that I ultimately want.  But, urg, uh, but, um…come on God!  Just kidding…mostly.  It\’s hell being human.  🙂
     
    Hugs,
    J.

  13. Jaime Campbell says:

    Ooops….meant to ask about how you are….I must have the all about me syndrome!  Yuck!  I hope you are well today, my friend.  Hugs.
     
    Jaime.

  14. Gelert says:

    I remember that story so well Jorge, can\’t believe its that long ago I read it. I remember small things for years – maybe just a sight like that one, or even just a turning on a coastal path that revealed something unexpected. Those are the things that make the rough patches worth while, and we get to keep them forever.

  15. Deborah says:

    One bulb at a time.  I love daffodils and that was how I planted my garden over at my ex-husbands house.  I still visit and get to enjoy the fruits of my years of labor there, but it\’s not the same as actually putting my hands in the soil.  I miss that so much.  Thanks for your lovely comment.  And thanks for leading me back in time to last October.  I enjoyed Tuscany too.
    Blessed be,
    Deborah

  16. Marge says:

    Jorge…
    Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful images; the daffodils are stunningly lovely! You are truly blessed to have access to such a wonder in your life.
    One can only smile and relax while viewing your photographs, my friend…thank you for so generously sharing your talent with us!
    (I particularly appreciated the photo of the lovely landscape partially viewed through the wine glass…most unexpected and surprising)
    Peace and love, always.
    Marge

  17. A Utah Woman Am I says:

    Hey there Jorge!
     
    Thanks for sharing all of these pictures.  I really enjoyed the one with the glass.  It will forever be a fascination of mine.  Taking pictures with varying view points that is.  Seeing things from another perspective.
     
    I have heard the daffodil prinicple before and am marveled by it.  The things that our own two hands can do is one of the many miracles life can offer.
     
    I wonder if I can still find some daffodils for sale somewhere.  They are my mother\’s favorite.  And Mother\’s Day is just around the corner…  :o)
     
    Wishing you many good days Jorge!
    Kelsey

  18. PJ says:

    Good day Jorge,
     
    Thank you for your visit. Always glad to have you by.
     
    These photos are beautiful. I am especially fond of the "glass" one, and the next to last one, lower left column. Absoultely unique and breath-taking to me.
     
    Being a designer of landscaping…I have planted mnay Tulips throughtout the years, however, the story behind this is priceless. What a woman.
     
    Thank you for sharing.
     
    Until next time..Keep smiling.
     
    ~*~Paula~*~
     

  19. M says:

    Dear Jorge,
    Thank you for leaving a message in my space. After experiencing frustrations and difficulties in my life, I feel that I mature a lot. Now i am courageous enough to face incoming difficulty in future. Thank you so much for all your support and advice. I am so sorry that i closed my space for a long time.
    Well… I just wanna say that… Jorge, you are awesome!
     
    Best wishes!
    Mian

  20. Jaime Campbell says:

    Just coming by to wish you a good day.
     
    Take care.
    Jaime.

  21. not such crazy says:

    Hi  Jorge

    your photos of nature are gorgeous…
    you must be happy one to be there and see all this beauty in presence…
    I want to say thank you for stopping by and your comments even I dont post much last time ( it seams it will be one more month in such way-the "Marathon" is not still ower)..anyway I have some free moments to read comments …and it is great feeling that some friends still remember you 🙂
    Hope you enjoy spring and sunny days…
    with best wishes
    Anita

  22. SANDRA says:

    Oh My Dear Friend Jorge..the daffodils are beautiful!!!!  Wonderful wonderful photos of daffodils…it makes my heart sing!  I am doing fine..altho an imminent hospitalization is in my future for another heart balloon repair ..PTCA (percutaneous transluminal Coronary Angioplasty)…Sounds impressive doesn\’t it?  It is..(laughing)..fix a few more blockages in my heart and I am back to business as usual …can\’t complain over that (laughing).  All is well..it is Mother\’s Day Weekend…kiss your little mother and hug her close..she has done a good job…
    Love forever..Sandra

Leave a Reply

