The Poet Returns

My favorite poet just flew into town from his Paris abode, accompanied by his lovely French amour. As a result, I may be remiss for a while in visiting with you, or following up on your comments. Please forgive me.  His visit does remind me of the alternating polarity many of us with children continue to experience. In that vein, I offer you the following poem.
 
PASSIONATE ASYMMETRY
 
He can create an original screenplay
according to Hollywood format
but the spell-check bypasses flaws
like "their our" for "there are."
 
He can select a reputable cast
and conduct an organized read-through
but can’t find his graph calculator
in time for algebra class.
 
He can set up a two-camera shoot
and direct everything but the weather
but eight plus seven and common division
are glitches that routinely stall his momentum.
 
He’s a master of cinema technique
steady between the close-up and the wide
who can cut, fade and dissolve with aplomb
but sometimes forgets how to open his locker.
 
And now the piece de resistance –
the analog-digital editing conversion,
a feat in my eyes beyond Darien’s peak
accomplished sans mentor and manual this week.
 
But Monday the video maker, my son,
has misplaced his shoes for the drive to school
and his pencils for class are gathering dust
in the door well of Dad’s Oldsmobile.
 
Jerome L. McElroy
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Poet Returns

  1. Cheryl says:

    Great writing and enjoy your favorite poet….Have a great time.

  2. Betty says:

    Hi Jorge,
    Every day I rejoice that I chose to have children.  Sure, it was difficult at times.  Actually during the early teen years I wondered why I had chosen this.  But today they are all grown and I am astounded each day by the light they produce in my life.  Christy, my daughter, will be here Wednesday and I\’m so excited just anticipating her visit.
    Have a wonderful time with your son!
    Betty

  3. Kathryn says:

    Oh, I do like that……………
     
    have a wonderful time, J

  4. Lakota Clay says:

    Yes, it does remind me of other poetry, other times.  I can understand the polarities in all of us!  Be well, yourself!  L.

  5. Stephen Craig says:

    Jorge,  I agree with your previous post.  It is essential to have a stream of civilians in the military as a means of checks and balance.  Have a great visit.   And as ever be well.  Stephen

  6. the1stephzen says:

    Boy….do I understand this one!  Glad you are having company!!

  7. Pamela says:

    Enjoy your weekend and your visit…
    Lovely poem.
    Be Well.
    Peace.

  8. Gracia says:

    Enjoy the visit – and the poem is pretty good!
    Cheers!
    Grace~~~

  9. Michelle says:

    Hello Jorge, I hope all is well your way.
     
    Have a great visit! I enjoyed the poem.
     
    Santiago is beautiful. The mountains are breathtaking. I am enjoying my first visit here.
     
    Is your partner originally from Santiago? Armando grew up here but also lived in La Serena sometimes.
     
    Grande abrazo from Chile,
    Michelle

  10. Holy says:

    sounds like my son except his passions are airplanes and LEGO…you have to feel compassion for these poor souls though, they\’re still a work in progress – check out http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/teenbrain/.
     
    Enjoy your visit!

  11. PJ says:

    Good Evening Jorge,
     
    Enjoy your visit with your Son and his lovely wife.  There is absolutely no need to apologize for your possible remiss. Although, we all will be awaiting your return . 
     
    Am pleased I have made you smile (again). It is contagious. I thank you.
     
    Until next time…Keep Smiling.
     
    ~*~Paula~*~
     

  12. Marge says:

    Have a a wonderful time with your son and his beloved; we will be here when you come back. The poem was delightful…thank you for the sharing of it…
     
    Hope you\’ll be back soon!
     
    Peace and love, always…
     
    Marge

  13. Fenix says:

    Hello Jorge: Enjoy the visit!!! Have a great time.
    Hugs

  14. Magenta says:

    I like this original concept of "passsionate asymmetry" and your poem. Have a wonderful time.
    elise

  15. Suzalita says:

    This is such a wonderful poem – our children our like us – mixes of strengths and weaknesses! Enjoy your visit!

  16. Aafrica says:

    ah, the father-son time. enjoy!

  17. KatSoup says:

    Ha Ha bravo!
    Sons arent they great?

  18. Gelert says:

    Have a wonderful time, and don\’t forget to tell him how we like to read him.

  19. K says:

    Oh La La… L\’Amour… C\’est Genial, No?
    Enjoy your time and visit with your son and his wonderful French love.  We will catch you when you have a moment….
    Ciao Jorge…. enjoy!
    KC

  20. Marie says:

    I am so happy for you!! I know how it feels. Enjoy every moment of it.
    Hugs, Marie

  21. Deborah says:

    That was much fun.  So the prodigal returns and with the amour.  How fun for you.  I know I always enjoy when mine returns to me.  We always have a great time, and he teaches me so much.
    Deborah

Leave a Reply

