New Year Poem

I have to work this weekend, which is most unfortunate, as my favorite poet will be winging back to the Continent Monday morning. Still, it was a great gift to have him home for the holidays, and we’ll still have a little time together before he departs. I haven’t had any success in coaxing more  verse out of him during his brief sojourn here, so you’ll have to be satisfied with the following meditation.
 
Meditation Lesson in the Pays d’Oc
 
I have closed my eyes to the blue hills
across the rock-bound vineyards
through a screen of olive trees
over hedges of rosemary and lavender,
paying attention to my breath.
 
Fragrance, memory, birdsong,
the clamor of cicadas – I notice these,
then return my attention to my breath.
 
The slow caress of the sun
moves over my face just as it moves over the vines,
ripening grapes into the blood of stones.
 
Paying attention only to my breath,
I inhale something big and alive, and I panic!
Instead of dying, I cough up a butterfly,
In disbelief watch it
dry its wings in the sun then rejoin the iridescent cloud
floating on the scent of lavender.
 
Pay atention to your breath, telling you
this world is a place full of trapdoors
hinged smoothly as a lepidopteran wing.
 
Patrick L. Clary
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to New Year Poem

  1. Michelle says:

    Thanks for sharing that meditation. Thanks for your comment too. I am sorry if I sounded negative on my last comment to you. I\’m going to put it all behind me and prepare for the next opportunity. 😉
     
    I hope your weekend goes well at work. Maybe everything will be very smooth and easy for you.
     
    P.S. Armando goes to Chile for two weeks on January 15th! I am going to miss him but I am thankful he can have a good time with his family and friends. I can\’t go with him this time… but hopefully next time I can. 🙂
     
    Abrazos,
    Michelle

  2. Andy says:

    Hello Jorge,
     
    Again another great entry. I absolutely loved the poem.
     

    So its in that respect that I\’d like to invite you to participate in the BEACON Awards for 2007, a little venture that I\’ve decided to run at my Space honouring cyberspace excellence. Of course, your participation is strictly voluntary. If you\’re interested please leave a comment in this blog and read this Guide for more information if you\’re perplexed at all.
    -Andy
     

  3. KatSoup says:

    I am so glad you got to spend time with people who mean so much to you over the holidays.  Nice entry. vineyards mmmm 🙂

  4. Stephen Craig says:

    Jorge,  The story about Spot is true.  Once indoors a ladybug can survive the winter.  A couple of years ago a box elder bug winterd with me and this year it is Spot!  I have worked weekends all of my adult life and rather like having Sunday and Monday off.   As ever be well.  Stephen

  5. Magenta says:

    Happy New Years from Elise. I will be posting next week on blogspot.

  6. Moon says:

    That is beautiful, and made me feel the beauty of earth and how life is beautiful

  7. Mercy says:

    I like it. A lot.
     
    Mercy
     
    ps: Can it be something about jasmine next time? Lavender…the type of soap in my shower…hehehe
     
     

  8. Beach Bum says:

    Swinging by to wish you a Happy New Year.  Love the poem!
     
    Tess

  9. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Jorge…..Happy New Year…..I hope the year holds much promise and that you enjoy every moment.  I love the poem….a rich meditation, one that almosts lets me see and sense your landscape.  I love the butterfly image. As I\’ve said many times…..well done.
     
    My session with my neighbor went well. We both gained from the experience. But I must admit I loved supporting her efforts.
     
    I am well. Unseasonably warm here in the east. I need winter to rejuvenate my soul!  More specifically a wild and wooly nor\’easter. Be well.  Bittersweet

  10. Andy says:

    Your kind words are much appreciated. I am slightly disappointed you won\’t participate but I can see your reasons. Stay well and thankyou.-Andy

  11. Unknown says:

    I\’ve been meaning to thank you so much for the wonderful comment you made about my tribute to my father.  Your words touched me deeply, and you are so right.  The best way for me to honor my father is to live my life in a way to make him proud of me.  I\’ll always remember this simple lesson as I pursue my own dreams.  Thanks again for your kind words.  I wish you the very best in 2007!

  12. linda says:

    you are a lepidopterist poet my friend!  love the poem.  You are so deep.  Refreshing to find people online who have merit
    and faith, and love life.        I love life.   Big Hugs from Linda

  13. Fenix says:

    Hello Jorge.
    I hope you have a great year and your dreams are reality.
    Hugs

  14. PJ says:

    Happy New Year, Jorge. May it be the best ever for you and your family.
     
    Until next time..Keep smiling.
     
    ~*~Paula~*~

  15. Marie says:

    Thank you for the poem.  I know how hard it is to say good bye.
    It helps when we try to think of the many "hellos" we will be saying in the future.
    Hugs, Marie

  16. Marge says:

     
    What a beautiful poem, Jorge; thank you for sharing it with us!
     
    I hope 2007 is a wonderful year for you and yours, and I thank you for the past year\’s friendship and look forward to learning more about you and your life in the new year!
     
    Wishing you peace…
     
    Marge

  17. SANDRA says:

    Dearest Jorge, I am so happy that you spent time with your poet friend.  I love the meditation and hope that as I write this, you have found the transition back to work a good one and that 2007 will fill your life with great blessings.  I am settling in to my life in Florida…I love it here.  I embrace my retirement as an adventure and I love it!
    Take care my dearest friend, I send love to you and your family.  Love, Sandra

  18. Gelert says:

    it certainly is, and I loved that. Ty. Hope your poet reaches his destination safely, and gives us some more verse soon.

  19. Theresa says:

    Just stopped by to say hi.  I hope you are having a good week so far!  😉

  20. Holy says:

    the poems that dwell on your pages are always just the perfect read for me in the moment.  Why is that, Jorge, oh wise one?
     
    Trusting you had a fab visit with le Parisian poet, n\’est ce pas?
     
    Bonsoir pour maintenant, mon amie.
     
     

  21. Edith says:

    Another poem that I like a lot… very talented this favorite poet of yours.  Sorry your visit has to end, but it\’s great you got to be together for a while.

Leave a Reply

