Common Sense

My friends Bruce and Ana brought the following piece to my attention. For some time now, Common Sense has been an oxymoron for many of us who observe the world. I hope the following will help inform the rest of you what has happened to Common Sense. Be well.
 
An Obituary printed in the London Times…….. Interesting and sadly 
rather true. 
 
‘Today we mourn the passing of a beloved old friend, Common Sense, who 
has been with us for many years. No one knows for sure how old he was, 
since his birth records were long ago lost in bureaucratic red tape.
 
He will be remembered as having cultivated such valuable lessons as: 
knowing when to come in out of the rain; why the early bird gets the 
worm; life isn’t always fair; and maybe it was my fault. 
 
Common Sense lived by simple, sound financial policies (don’t spend 
more than you can earn) and reliable strategies (adults, not children, 
are in charge). 
 
His health began to deteriorate rapidly when well-intentioned but 
overbearing regulations were set in place. Reports of a 6-year-old boy 
charged with sexual harassment for kissing a classmate; teens 
suspended from school for using mouthwash after lunch; and a teacher 
fired for reprimanding an unruly student, only worsened his condition. 
 
Common Sense lost ground when parents attacked teachers for doing the 
job that they themselves had failed to do in disciplining their unruly 
children. 
 
It declined even further when schools were required to get parental 
consent to administer sun lotion or an Aspirin to a student; but could 
not inform parents when a student became pregnant and wanted to have 
an abortion. 
 
Common Sense lost the will to live as the churches became businesses; 
and criminals received better treatment than their victims. Common 
Sense took a beating when you couldn’t defend yourself from a burglar 
in your own home and the burglar could sue you for assault. 
 
Common Sense finally gave up the will to live, after a woman failed to 
realize that a steaming cup of coffee was hot. She spilled a little in 
her lap, and was promptly awarded a huge settlement. 
 
Common Sense was preceded in death by his parents, Truth and Trust,  
his wife Discretion,  his daughter Responsibility and his son, Reason.

He is survived by his 4 stepbrothers;  I Know My Rights,  I Want It Now,
Someone Else Is To Blame, and I’m A Victim. 
 
Not many attended his funeral because so few realized he was gone.

 
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Common Sense

  1. Beth says:

    So true.  I know a few people with high IQs that have not one iota of common sense.

  2. Patricia says:

    thank you for coming by…so good seeing you, Jorge…
    I\’ve wondered, often, what is going to happen to our country…guess it\’s a worldwide thing…far too many of the "what\’s in it for me" kind of people…

  3. Duckie says:

    Thank you so very much for sharing this.
     
    Stay well, my friend.
     
    Eileen

  4. PJ says:

    Good Morning Jorge,
     
    Seems to be the younger generation thinks the world should revolve around them. Yes, there are those who are intelligent but the ones I encounter on a daily basis have absolutely no common sense, if they do…they do not show it. LOL. Perhaps "common sense" is a trait when one uses a particular area of the cerebellum. I will sign off by saying this…they are missing that area of the brain. 🙂
     
    Until next time..Keep Smiling.
     
    ~*~Paula~*~

  5. Aafrica says:

    that is so true! and so sad!

  6. Barb says:

    Excellent post Jorge… this seems to be the sad reality affecting us all
    in one way or another…
    BE Well
    Barb
     

  7. PJ says:

    Good Evening Jorge,
     
    LOL..I knew you would not consider doing the 8 things list. That is why I only had 7 to at least consider asking. I normally do  NOT do them either, but once..what the heck.
     
    Be well…
     
    Until next time..Keep Smiling.
     
    ~*~Paula~*~
     
    P.S. My next entry is kind of freaky. Wonder if I will get any responses. LOL.

  8. Michelle says:

    This is very sad and true about common sense.
     
    About the geocaching, I know one thing Armando and I would not do and that is go up somebody\’s driveway for a cache. We live in a mostly rural area so the opportunities abound for rural areas like near bridges and off country roads. Of course armando has to do most of the searching for the cache but I like the trip and thinking up fun things to leave behind in the cache for others. You made me laugh with your comment  about the geocachers near your home.That is very bold! I would have been wondering what they were doing too!
    Have a great Sunday!
    Abrazos,
    Michelle

  9. dawn says:

    (lol) you always make me smile, Jorge.  you too have that sublime twist in that which you you put across, i very much admire.today, on your last comment on my space, im a bit confused because of some turbulence thats on-going there-ins so i need an implicit understanding when you commented that: "I confess, I subscribe to the same philosophy 🙂 Be well,
    J."   was that an objective remark on (what just before your comment) Brent said or were you subjective stating that to my scribbles?  i only ask cos i truly appreciate all these years of our friendship on spaces, for you wisdom abundant and it is my honour that you grace my space with your presence. sincerely, dawn

  10. sweeti's says:

    Common sense  WIkipedia  says

    a sense of things being common to other things
    a sense of things common to humanity

  11. sweeti's says:

    i loved this  entry 
     its  entertaining  and same time  hmmmmmm  ….makes  me  think.
     
    well i can adcise u  …..Fly again….its the best way  to  relax.
    Enjoy
    MJ
     
     

  12. dawn says:

    ahhh…smiles. thank you for the clarification. (lol)  Jorge, above medico musings is you.  with both feet planted on the ground, transcending even metaphysics, us  😉  with affection, dawn

  13. Joe says:

    Hey J,
    Thanks again for a thought-proving truth.  They say a satirist has to laugh to keep from crying.  So true.
    — Joe

  14. Joe says:

    Hey J,
    I can\’t seem to access Jane\’s space any more.  Can you?
    Thanks,
    Joe

  15. Kathryn says:

    There is this commercial that drives me batty – the guy goes to the tv place and this loud "I WANT IT ALL…I WANT IT ALL…I WANT IT ALL…AND I WANT IT KNOW!"  I always think, yup, about sums it up….bleah.
     
    (by the way – I didn\’t open up any more work related mails or emails! -just as you suggested – I just enjoyed my remaining time…*smile*)

  16. J says:

    Hi Jorge,
    Great post and so true! Thanks for sharing.
    j

  17. dawn says:

    dear Jorge, this additional bit is funny cos\’ my dad, always when he hears the ambulance siren.. despite what he\’s doing. he goes like thats my song! (lol)im glad, you are inspired though 😉 keeping well, as i hope you are in the pink of health, dawn

  18. Isabelle says:

    Came here to thank you for your instructive comment on my space!
     
    That was a very useful blog! As a matter of fact I have been enquiring about the disappearance of Common Sense, Truth, Trust, Discretion, Responsibility and Reason.
     
    I am still looking for Generosity….must be the benjamin of the disappeared family. She too vanished into thin air…
     
    You are welcome back to my space anytime!
     
    Take care,
    Isa

Leave a Reply

