A Small Proposal

 A SMALL PROPOSAL

 

Not many of you could have possibly escaped the recent gyrations of our financial markets, or the responses of our government in dealing with the crises. Regardless of the pundit’s position in favoring or opposing government bailouts of private companies, there is one thing on which they all agree – we, the taxpayers, will be footing the bills which will continue to come in by the billions. Just today, one commentator, noting the rapid upswing of stock prices in the past two days, said, “This could not have happened merely by placing the reserves of the Treasury Department behind the failing companies. It required the bipartisan efforts of Congress, pledging the limitless (taxing) power over the production of the American people to stem the tide.”

 

Please don’t misunderstand. I’m as patriotic as the next person, but somehow I’m not completely cheered by the prospect of Congress using my earnings, alongside those of my co-workers (many of whom are working two jobs to support their families) to plug holes in a financial dam created by Wall Street and financial company executives grown immeasurably wealthy by building the house of cards we just seen tumble down. Call me a curmudgeon if you will, but I would be more cheered if I saw those same executives stripped of their bonuses and their ill-gotten gains. Sell their yachts and multi-million dollar second homes. Refund that money to the Treasury. Allow them to experience the same poverty and unemployment they have caused for their employees and investors.In addition, I think we should develop a new reality show for TV. Line up the small investors who have lost some or all of their life savings in these enterprises on both side of Wall Street. Equip them with small stones or perhaps allow the octogenarians to use their canes. Then have the most egregious offenders run the gauntlet of these injured investors. Better yet, make the event pay-per view, and donate the proceeds to those who had been harmed. Given our county’s lust for blood sport, this one should be a sell-out.

This entry was posted in Thoughts & Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Small Proposal

  1. Duckie says:

    Maybe it is just I, but I am nervous that the government now ownes an insurance company.  Keep smiling!!
     
    Eileen

  2. Beth says:

    I agree with you 100% and you said it much better than I could have!!

  3. Neora Chana says:

    Part of me says \’hear, hear!\’
     
    Part of me hates thinking that you are right about the success of the reality shows….

  4. FotoTrek says:

    Something had to be done. Not really sure what the right course of action was or should have been. I need to educate myself better in these areas. Nice to meet you. Thanks for dropping by my space! Liz

  5. PJ says:

    Good Evening Jorge,
     
    I agree 100% with everything you have written. You, of course, relayed it much better than I would have been able to. It is a scary time right now, and again, it will be the hard working class that will feel the decisions that the government has made. I say "Jorge" for President. LOL. However, I would not want to hold that position..ever.
     
    Until next time…Keep Smiling.
     
    Paula

  6. Deborah says:

    I watched an interview with Alan Greenspan just last weekend and he was say that the Feds needed to stay out of this and let those companies fail.  Yes it may have caused a small panic, but it would have given us a true market.  When the Fed bails out companies we see a false economy.  I am a little disappointed in Washington.  Politicos are too afraid of losing office to tell the truth to the American public.  Something has to give somewhere.  They created the problem with forcing mortgage companies to invest in redline borrowers.  Bush wanted everyone to own a house even if they weren\’t responsible to pay for it.  This created a housing bubble, and it just popped the way bubbles do.  I\’m sorry but some people deserved to lose their homes, and now the companies that loaned to them can\’t dump them in this market.  Ouch, it happens, but now the government is creating another illusion to keep people in the dark.  They think we are all stupid and I resent that the most.  This administration is corrupt and needs to go away.

  7. Linda says:

    I so agree with you Jorge.  Well said and well thought out.  Bless you.
    Hugs,
    Linda

  8. Sarah says:

    SO SPOT ON.  But the super-wealthy will never come to that–they have not the heart nor courage for it.  All they have is money.  "This is a brain on $$$$$$$$$$$"……….

  9. Michelle says:

    Well said. I agree. What a big (corrupt) mess.
     

  10. Gayle says:

    Can\’t quite agree with the reality show but, I\’m all for the reclamation of assets to repay their debt to the American taxpayer.  What I find absurd is that most of the public seems to feel what is being done is the best that can be done.Gayle

  11. Patricia says:

    don\’t know what our country is coming to…how can we last?…"ask not what your country can do for you…" doesn\’t mean a thing to those with the money and the power…I used to talk about the big "L"…that has become the big "G"…

  12. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    Well Said! I could NOT agree more.Corporate America is a cesspool of rich people getting richer at the expense of everyone else. I see it every single day ………. people laid off while executives bonus\’ and perks increase exponentially. It is sad what this country has come to financially……… Give back to the small person what belongs to them. Give the government to the average working person and see what changes they will bring………….Dragon

  13. Kathryn says:

    I hear you, my friend.

  14. sweeti's says:

    Hi there  Jorge..
    I have  a friend  who lost  a lot…
    i agree  with u  let those  so called rich ones ….taste  of  that feeling ..
    good idea
    i support  ur  view
    God bless u
    and Keep  smiling   my friend
    MJ

  15. Charlotte says:

    Right on!!  Well put!!  I have to manage my budget; Why don\’t those in power?  hugs, lottemae

  16. Hope says:

    makes one head spin huh..

  17. Patricia says:

    just stopping by, Jorge…hope you are having a good week…

  18. Jana says:

    I don\’t understand economics but when something like this happens it always falls onto average peple who will suffer. It is always like that. I guess I didn\’t come to the US in a good time. 🙂

  19. Holy says:

    ohmigosh – I don\’t know what to think.  I\’m caught between sticking my head in the sand like so many others who are staggeringly overwhelmed by this financial mess – and wishing I was a reality show octogenarian with an electrified cane.  Both are fantasyland places but where else can you take a stand these days?  And speaking of big words, this is twice in one day that I\’ve occasioned across that mouthful, egregious.  And I thought of you the first time, too.  There\’s a book I\’ve put on my to-read list – I Always Look Up the Word Egregious by Maxwell Nurnberg that looks like a fun read (spoken like a true wordsmith to another).I\’m encouraged by the public outrage though.  I assumed, wrongly it seems, that most citizens of this great nation might be in favour of the bailout or whatever hole-plugging measure it takes to protect from potential collapse.  And I guess because, like clockwork, fear-mongering precedes the presidential election. It\’s yet another Pavlovian response…Wall Street bell tolls in doom, we hide monies under mattresses with the proverbial pea.Speaking of peas porridge hot and nine-day old piss, Our local media is filled with the lovely tidbit of disgusting news that Alan Fishman, the interim CEO of WaMu pocketed a cool $20 mil, despite WaMu\’s demise.  And all this in the course of 3 weeks work, or more likely, lack thereof.  He was probably so busy picking out office curtains and furnishings and ordering his business card, he probably didn\’t get around the saving their proverbial savings & loan butt.  Methinks I\’ve been looking for work in all the wrong places.Look what you started.  🙂  I better go check my blood pressure now.On that note, I\’m off to go read Animal Farm, Holy Son\’s latest in-class read.  How bloo\’y prophetic.PS – I don\’t imagine, good Herr Doktor, that you have any other cures for this epidemic strain of malaise, do you?  For those of us who can no longer stomach television and CNN ticker tape?

Leave a Reply

