Brain Twister

Thanksgiving dinner is rapidly becoming a fading caloric haze, and as we did not eat at home, I don’t have to worry about stuffing myself today with leftovers. Despite having to work the holiday, the gods were kind, and I was able to enjoy the festivities without interruption in the company of good friends. I hope you were able to do the same. For those of you who are not out shopping today (i.e. the sane ones of you) I offer you the following puzzle courtesy of my friends Lynne and Fulton.
 
 WORD PUZZLE … 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
          
                   This is for my smart  friends.   I could not figure it out and had to look at the
 answer.  See if you can figure out what these words have in common.   
                   
                 1 Banana
                 2 Dresser    
                 3 Grammar
                 4 Potato
                 5 Revive
                 6 Uneven
                 7 Assess  
                  
 
                 DON’T LOOK YET!!!!
 
 
 
 
 
 

                 
                 
                  Are you peeking or have you already given up?   Give it another try .  Look at each word carefully.
                    (You’ll kick yourself when you discover the answer.)  
                    
                  
                  Answer:  No, it is not that they all have at least 2 double letters.   (Thought I had the answer, but I did not go far enough.)  
                  
                 
                  Answer:  In all of the words listed, if you take the first letter, place it at the end of the word,
and then spell the word backwards, it will be the same word.
  
                  
                  Did you figure it out?  Just send it to more people and stump them; then, you’ll feel better, too.

This entry was posted in Thoughts & Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Brain Twister

  1. Beth says:

    My goodnes no, I didn\’t figure it out Jorge.  My excuse, I had lots of leftovers to finish up today and I am stuffed.  LOL  I did have a wonderful time with my children though, so it was a happy day.  I\’m glad your day was a good one too.

  2. PJ says:

    Good Evening Jorge,
     
    LOL..I needed a mirror before trying that!! I thought I had it figured out..then, like you, I was wrong.
     
    Thanks for the mind bender!
     
    Our T\’giving was quiet. Just myself and Mr. PJ. However, I sure spent a lot of time on the phone with different family members and then..to work today. Not shopping. LOL..
     
    Until next time…Keep Smiling.
     
    Paula

  3. Marge says:

     
    Gee whiz, Jorge; you expect me to THINK today??? No can do. I\’m going to play lazy this morning (I\’m including my brain, too…), and maybe–just maybe–I\’ll get some stuff done this afternoon.
    Seriously, though, I really did try to solve the word puzzle. Gave it all of a couple minutes, then caved in and checked out the answer. Yup–I kicked myself when I saw it.
    Thanks for the smile and the mild cerebral workout!
     
    As ever,
     
    Marge
     
    P.S. Thank you for your lovely Thanksgiving greeting.
     
     
     

  4. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Good morning Jorge,
     
    First, I\’m glad youu had an enjoyable Thanksgiving and that you weren\’t interrupted with any emergencies. We had a delightful Thanksgiving but must admit I am enjoying the leftovers. I think "leftovers" are the reason why I hesitate going to someone elses home for dinner. How can you forego a turkey sandwich with a dollup of stuffing and cranberry sauce.  Or the open faced hot turkey sandwich with gravy?  Laughing.
     
    Well I looked at your puzzle and figured out that the second letter was the same as the last letter but didn\’t take it farther. It kind of reminded me of the G.R.E\’s or the Miller exams.   I probably should have though about it longer but don\’t think I would have figured it out.  But a good puzzle.
     
    Hope all is well.   Bittersweet

  5. Sarah says:

    That was a good one!  I had to look….
     
    Try this one, one of my Dad\’s, who was an English Prof:
     
    "John where Bill had had had had had had had had had had had the teacher\’s approval."  (answer below, but try it first!)
     
     
     
     
     
     
    "John, where Bill had had \’had\’, had had \’had had\’. \’Had had\’ had had the teachers approval."  I have one or two more of those up my sleeve. 

  6. Marilena says:

    hehe cool quiz 🙂

  7. Charlotte says:

    hmmm, thought that looked familiar…. now I remember someone sent me that some time ago.  Glad to hear that you had a good Thanksgiving even if you were working.  I am sure everyone who needed your care was glad to know that you were there and taking good care of them.
    I had so many phone calls from friends and family and Mr. G. worked nights.  We had a beef roast with taters and carrots before he left and OF course, cranberries…  Wasn\’t up to doing the turkey thing and that was just fine.  Have a good rest of the weekend.  hugs, lottemae

  8. Cheryl says:

    I am real bad with stuff like this and stared at it a long time with no answers.

  9. Embrace says:

    You got me.. I tried and tried.. ha..
    Thanks for this one. I might be back to get it and send it on.
    I dont have snow right here yet that has stayed.
    I hope we have a white Christmas.
     I have seen years like this but not for along time.
    and no Im not that old..:)
    Thanks for this blog also. 
    Be Well my Friend.

  10. dreadnaught says:

    Hiya Jorge. Saw you on David Shag\’s site. Am trying to branch out & since he\’s cool, I reasoned that his friends would be. Picked a random one & here I am. Agh, and I thought it was that all the words had six letters. Very clever!

  11. Michelle says:

    Nope, I had to look too. I do not think I would have figured that one out. I am glad you had a great Thanksgiving! We made the big meal at home with family. The weather was perfect that day and we got to enjoy outdoors after the meal without jackets! Abrazos,Michelle

  12. Jana says:

    English is an amazing language!!!!! Who did find that? I had no idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

