Merry Christmas

MERRY CHRISTMAS

 

Before you know it, the holiday rush has carried you along to the post-Season Sales, where you can buy more stuff you didn’t need in the first place at savings of up to 50%. As Christmas Sunday is just four days away, allow me to put a momentary brake on all our hustle and bustle, take a brief pause…yes, that’s it, let the air out SLOWLY,  (doesn’t that feel better?) and take a few minutes for this post.

 

Those of you who are on my personal mailing list have already received my annual chronicle of our family events, and those who are not probably wouldn’t be interested in the details. One of the events of note in the past year has been my discovery of a wonderful group of people willing to share their writings, and often details of their personal lives with our self-selected on-line community and me. The remarkable part of all this is that word, community, which we find ourselves inhabiting together. Our stories range from the tragic to the adventurous, from the heart-rending to the laugh-out-loud humorous, from the trivial details of daily life to inspiring pinnacles of courage.

 

You have been most kind in all the comments you’ve left on my Space since I started posting this summer. As my family gathers for the upcoming Christmas celebration at our house Christmas Eve, I’m busying myself with the details of planning a menu, shopping for food, borrowing enough chairs so all of us will be able to sit for our traditional feast, and getting my work caught up so we can be left undisturbed for the weekend. I know I won’t have much time later, so I want now to extend to each of you my gratitude for allowing me to come into your lives, and to wish you and yours a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year at this celebration of birth as we circle here in the chalice of Earth.

This entry was posted in Thoughts & Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Kathleen says:

    I have 8 wonderful Folding Chairs (you may borrow)….and a few recipes that will make their heads spin ..opps probably not what you had in mind for the Chirstmas Feast….Huh? Thank you…..for your sweet comments over in my world….about My Girls–I think they are sorta kinda beautiful too! *wink*Wishing you and your family, health, peace and happiness always…!All the best,Big Hugz-Kat

  2. Marge says:

    Good evening, Jorge…Thank YOU, for the limited off-blog communications we\’ve shared, for the information, occasional silliness, poignancy, news from your life, and opportunities to get to know a little more about the goodly man behind the blog.You are a true gentleman. A world traveler and raconteur whose stories transport me to places I would probably never visit in realtime. I am so pleased to call you friend.For all this, thank you, sir.Mat you and yours enjoy a lovely Christmas and a delightful New Year!Peace.Marge

  3. ~ Blue Star Mom ~ says:

    Merry Christmas Jorge!Warm Regards,Pebble

  4. Unknown says:

    hi how are you this is our homes christmas space while i am in tasmania hope you have a lovely christmas and a happy new year hugs susanhttp://img284.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ecard014nj.jpg

  5. Stephen Craig says:

    Jorge, Thanks for sliding by the studio and for your holiday greetings. I wish you and your\’s a very merry Christmas! As ever be well. Stephen Craig Rowe

  6. Angeline says:

    Hi Jorge,Thank you for your visit and your well wishes. I will come by more often after the Christmas. Lately have been very busy caroling. Wishing you and your loved ones: \’A blessed Christmas and a happy New Year!\’ May all your wishes for the new year come true!With Christ\’s Love,Angeline

  7. Moon says:

    I want to wish you A Merry Christmas to You and and to all your beloved ones.and a very Happy New Year! for all

  8. Cheryl says:

    That was a wonderful Christmas message and you are welcome at my table any time..

  9. Kathryn says:

    and all best wishes back to you, Jorge …..

  10. Suzalita says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by to say hello! So enjoy visiting your site – I am very sorry to read about the burgulary a few weeks back. I hope you have regained a sense of peace and security. Merry Christmas

  11. SANDRA says:

    Merry Christmas Jorge to you and yours..May this Holiday be especially wonderful bringing Blessings of Love, Happiness, Peace, Joy and Abundant Health to you and your entire family.I will visit more often after the Holidays…until then…All the Best Wishes to you!Eternally..Sanddee

  12. Aafrica says:

    merry chrsitmas 🙂

  13. Deirdre says:

    Very Beautiful Entry! And a big thank you–you are so right about that word, community.This almost negates what I was going to post here:Please forgive me that I\’m still not up to making the blog rounds, reading and commenting, but I wanted to drop by and wish you a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and all that :-)Best Wishes,D

  14. Debbie says:

    Merry Christmas to you, too. It means a lot to me that you take the time to read my blog.

  15. Michelle says:

    I love the community among us spacers. 🙂 Thanks for your kind comments and visits to my space. It means a lot to me. May you and your family have a great Christmas filled with lasting memories and a New Year filled with abundant blessings!Abrazo,Michelle

  16. Gelert says:

    Pleasure to have come across you through your blog. Wishing you a peaceful Christmas and blessings in the New Year.

  17. Jaime Campbell says:

    Beautifully put. Amen. I love when you point out that our community is a self-selected one. It\’s really an awesome thing, isn\’t it? I\’ve been thinking about that this afternoon. How good it feels to have found this outlet and in-coming source of good feelings this year.I hope that your holiday is wonderful and that you find enough chairs! Hubby and I are about to go snuggle on the sofa and watch "Polar Express." Sounds perfect to me.Love and Christmas hugs,Jaime.

  18. not such crazy says:

    Merry Christmas Jorge!Anita

  19. Marie says:

    Thank you!May your Christmas be full of happiness and may the New Year be for you and your loved ones truly a time of renewed hope and peace. Hugs, Marie

  20. Joe says:

    Greetings Jorge,Just wanted to stop in & wish you the best holidays; and may the coming year be your best & most enlightening you\’ve ever experienced.Best Wishes as always,Joe Metz

  21. Unknown says:

    HI. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR STOPPING BY. WANNE WISH YOU A WARM MERRY CHRISTMAS___________________Hello __________________I Have _________________Come Here________________To Wish You _______________Merry Christmas ______________And Also, A Happy _____________New Year To You For ____________2006… I Hope The New ___________Year Brings You Loads Of __________Happiness And Good Health._________I Hope You Have A Nice Day On________Christmas Day, Filled With Lots Of_______Family Time…..And Of Course Eating______Lots Of Nice Foods, And Candys. I Hope_____That Santa Is Good To You As Well And He___Brings You Loads Of Presents On Christmas Day_________________.*(¨`•.•´¨)`•.¸______________.`•.¸.(¨`•.•´¨) `•.¸.________. ×`•.¸.•´×. (¨`•.•´¨)`•.¸`•.¸_________________. .(¨`•.•´¨). .×`•.¸._________________,××`•.¸.•´×× .`•.¸

  22. Jerry says:

    Merry Christmas, my friend!!I wish you peace and joy, great health and wisdom and personal peace!!j

  23. the1stephzen says:

    Jorge,May you and yours have a peaceful, inspiring holiday season!

  24. Lakota Clay says:

    A very merry Christmas to you Jorge. You have made my year a brighter one. Lakota

  25. Linda says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy a new year! Hope I\’m not late.All the best there!Linda

  26. Charlotte says:

    We just finished our evening meal of rib roast, red potatoes, gravy, sweet potatoes made with apple cubes, brown sugar, a tad of orange juice, and real butter,jello salad with fruit in it, buns, cranberries, and and and….. We are full… and Christmas Day is ending with doing dishes, and Mr. G. watching the football game. We had snacky thingies and opened packages last night. It has been a beautiful sunny, 30 degree day here in Northwestern Colorado..and we still have plenty of snow on the ground. and once again a Merry Christmas to you and yours. hugs, lottiemae

  27. Marge says:

    Good evening, Jorge…Just stopping by to offer a warm holiday *hug* and wishes for a blessed Christmastime and a wonder-filled New year.Thank you for your kindness and support of my space; you are a welcome friend. I appreciate you.Peace.Marge

  28. barbara says:

    I send you wishes of the best kind for a wonderful New Year. My you have many happy stories to tell to make us smile, think, laugh out loud or even draw a tear. May our little community find new ways to knock down boundaries that cause us separation.

  29. Jaime Campbell says:

    Hello Dear Friend,I hope that yesterday was wonderful for you and your family. I know there is much to be thankful for. I had a beautiful day. Fell in love with Hubby all over again. Twice!Love,Jaime.

Leave a comment